Posted by: Paul | July 6, 2011

Facebook’s 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 18

Day 18 – A song you wish you heard on the radio. The Long Winters – ‘Fire Island, AK’

The Long Winters are the single best live band I have ever seen in my life. And I’ve seen a lot. They give so much, are so entertaining and their songs come to life when played in the flesh like no-one else I’ve ever been to see. Their frontman, John Roderick, is not only a musical genius but could have a second line as a stand-up comic. Witty and erudite, he’s a bit like the Stephen Fry of indie rock. He can be followed on Twitter. I suggest you do this. If you’re into that sort of thing.

I have never heard The Long Winters on the radio. This is a situation which must not be allowed to continue. The only stumbling block, and the only criticism I have of the band, is that it takes them so damn long to make a record. I’ve been waiting since 2006 for a follow-up to ‘Putting The Days To Bed’, from where this track is lifted. Five years. FIVE YEARS, JOHN.

As they say, perfection does not happen overnight. And The Long Winters’ stock in trade is perfect indie pop songs. But I’m hungry for more!

Leave a Reply

Categories

