Posted by: Paul | June 26, 2011

Facebook’s 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 8

Day 8 – A song which you know all the words to – Idlewild – ‘You Held The World In Your Arms’

There are far too many songs to which I know all the words for me to pick just one, so I thought about this category in terms of what I like to sing along to most, and there’s one album which has always stuck in my mind as being perfect for that – so much so that I know all the words to every song, like a teenager in their bedroom singing in front of the mirror with a hairbrush.

I am an inveterate singer. I can’t help myself. Whether in the car, in the shower, or just humming something under my breath as I walk to the post office, there’s always music going through my head. Whether it would be something which anyone else would want to subject themselves to is another matter entirely! But Idlewild’s ‘The Remote Part’ is such a singalong, shoutalong joy from start to finish that it just carries you along on a wave of fiery guitar and intelligent, memorable lyrics.

Leave a Reply

Categories

