Posted by: Paul | June 22, 2011

Facebook’s 30 Day Song Challenge – Day 4

Day 4 – A song which makes you sad – Jimmy Eat World, ‘Hear You Me’

I like Jimmy Eat World’s first album, ‘Bleed American’ (renamed simply ‘Bleed’ in the US after 9/11), for its combination of crushing heaviness and sensitivity, often in the same song. It’s one I return to often.

The reason I’ve chosen this song as the ‘sad’ one in the list, in the ocean of vaguely sad music I listen to, is an intensely personal one. It’s because it makes me think of Toby The Cat dying. (Toby, by the way, is alive and well.)

The association started long before I had a child, and Toby was as close as we had come to children. I dote on him. Believe not what the cat detractors say, that they’re cold creatures who are interested only in food and warmth – I know Toby loves us. I’ve seen it.

Anyway, I was on the train one day a year or so after we got him, listening to this album, and a wave of sadness and realisation of mortality came over me. I now almost can’t bear to listen to this song, and skip it nearly every time it comes on.

I must be going soft in my old age.

Leave a Reply

Categories

