Posted by: Paul | June 2, 2011

Conversations with a Three-Year-Old: Marching orders

Adam’s becoming a very independent little soul. I fear it won’t be long before I’m being shouted at to JUST GO AWAY AND LEAVE ME ALONE and having doors slammed all over the house. I should know, I’ve been him already. It’s weird and scary and amazing when you see parts of your own personality come out in your children…and horrifying when it’s parts you don’t like. Got to start modifying my behaviour and behaving like a proper grown-up, I think!

But he did astonish me anew the other day. It’s half term and so without the usual routine of pre-school and then half a day at Nana & Grandads on one day, we’re a bit all over the place this week and have been mixing things up, swapping our regular days around in an effort to catch up with work and get back into some sort of post-holiday routine. After a birthday party yesterday I packed him off to Nana & Grandads, and was just having a quick chat with them, to bring them up to speed on the latest round of lack of success we’re having in selling our house (the only consolation right now is that it’s not just us, nothing is moving here at all, the market seems to be at a standstill. Plenty of recent viewers but no takers). Adam comes and stands at my feet while I’m talking, and tugs at the leg of my jeans:

“Daddy…Can you go now?”

Fine. If there’s one thing I do know, it’s when I’m not wanted!

Leave a Reply

Categories

