Posted by: Paul | April 4, 2011

Conversations with a Three-Year-Old: One Day…

Been a little while since I’ve done one of these, him having now passed the three year mark! It’s not that Adam’s ceased saying interesting or odd things, rather that there are probably too many to choose from. He’s a real chatterbox, and is now deep into his ‘Why?’ phase. Everything right now is ‘Why?’ The funny thing is, he’s not even interested in the answer – just in more questions. Perhaps a philosopher in the making. Or a Paxman-style journalist, asking the same question over and over again. ‘But Why?’

Anyway, this does not relate to the ‘Why’ phase, rather more his burgeoning imagination and desire to communicate about anything and everything. We were in the bathroom running his bath this evening, when he said ‘Do you want to hear my new story, Daddy?’

This was a little surprising, since it’s the first time he’s offered to actually ‘tell’ me a story of any kind. One thing he often does is, after his bedtime story, he takes the book from me and says ‘Can I read it to you now?’ This ‘reading it to me’ involves turning the pages quickly, pointing out one or two things, asking ‘Why?’ half a dozen times, before saying ‘The End.’

So I dutifully perched on the loo (closed!) while he sat on his step stool and told me a story.

‘One day, Big Alfie…’

(I love the names of his little nursery friends. They all sound like three year old gangsters. Big Alfie. Little Alfie. Luke the Badger Boy. A new one called ‘Zane’.)

‘One day, Big Alfie…what’s another word, Daddy?’

I now feel like we’re in that game on ‘I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue’ where two players build up a sentence word by word.

‘Umm…Went?’

‘One day, Big Alfie went…home. The End!’

There have been whole Soap Operas predicated on flimsier premises. Perhaps he’ll end up a writer?

Responses

  1. This morning was good, when Adam asked “Can we get a baby”, and I said “Where do babies come from?” and he thought for a moment and replied “The Doctors”. Good Guess I think as there are always babies at the Doctors, Bless. 🙂

  2. Bless him! So when you’re ready just pop down to the doctor’s and pick one up 🙂 xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

