Posted by: Paul | December 30, 2010

Songs of 2010

Despite feeling absolutely wretched today, a bug I’ve either picked up from Adam or my parents over Christmas, I find myself unexpectedly back at my desk very briefly to sort through some paperwork and do some printing for a little job I have next Monday – recording an interview with a chap who will be talking about Ralph Lauren’s car collection, of all things! Should be interesting.

Anyway, in the absence of a proper Best of 2010 compilation thus far this year, I thought I’d publish a rundown of the songs I have on the longlist at the moment. The actual compilation will follow at some point, but I’m behind with it this year – no doubt some will fall by the wayside, and I haven’t really attempted to sequence the tracks yet – the most important part for me! Here they are, in no particular order:

Jonsi – Go Do (from Go)
Morning Benders – Excuses (from Big Echo)
Bombay Bicycle Club – Rinse Me Down (from Flaws)
Matt Pond PA – Ruins (from The Dark Leaves)
Ellie Goulding – Lights (from the repackaged Bright Lights)
Foals – This Orient (from Total Life Forever)
Arcade Fire – Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) (from The Suburbs)
Band of Horses – Factory (from Infinite Arms)
The Kissaway Trail – SDP (from Sleep Mountain)
Broken Bells – The High Road (from Broken Bells)
The XX – Heart Skipped A Beat (from The XX)
Emma Pollock – I Could Be A Saint (from The Law of Large Numbers)
Kings of Leon – Radioactive (from Come Around Sundown)
The Black Keys – Tighten Up (from Brothers)
Zoey Van Goey – My Persecution Complex (from The Cage Was Unlocked All Along)
The Unwinding Hours – Annie Jane (from The Unwinding Hours)
Mumford and Sons – The Cave (from Sigh No More)

That’s my initial selection. Some real gems this year, though I admit I haven’t made much of an effort with music in the last 12 months – that’s what looking after a two-year-old will do to you! Will have to redress the balance in 2011…

Leave a Reply

Categories

