Posted by: Paul | October 29, 2010

Conversations with a Two-Year-Old: Yellow Dancing

Adam has started to identify music with colours, for some reason. I doubt he has anything like synaesthesia, where people are able to visualise sounds, but the association is interesting nonetheless. Except for the fact that he doesn’t use the word ‘music’ himself – he calls it ‘dancing’, though I’ve rarely seen him actually dance. Or the sort of jigging about which passes for dancing in a toddler. And in some adults, come to think of it. Whatever, he’s a better dancer than his Daddy anyway.

So on our Adam-Daddy days I often put some music on in the background, especially if we’re doing any cooking or craft-type activities.

‘Adam, what music would you like to listen to this morning?’

He goes over to the CD rack and starts emptying it onto the floor. He alights on a copy of ‘Trompe Le Monde’, by the Pixies, the cover of which is adorned by a snowfield studded with eyeballs.

‘I don’t think you’re going to like it…’

‘Want this one!’

I put it on, and the burst of noise which begins the title track gets a big frown. I try to get him up and dancing, and we make it to ‘Planet of Sound’, but not ‘Alec Eiffel’.

‘I did say you wouldn’t like it. What do you want instead?’

‘Blue dancing!’

He has often referred to Sigur Ros by this soubriquet, so I put ‘Meth Suth I Eyrum…’ on (apologies for no Icelandic characters), which he likes.

‘No Daddy, that not blue dancing!’

I try Friendly Fires, that gets me moving.

‘No Daddy! That red dancing!’

I pick up ‘Total Life Forever’ by Foals. That has a blue cover. That might be what he means.

‘Is this blue dancing, Adam? Look, it’s a blue CD.’

‘No Daddy, that yellow dancing!’

We’re going to be here for a while, I suspect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

