Posted by: Paul | October 15, 2010

Ikea

This week’s been a bit of a washout due to falling ill with tonsilitis. The last two days have been a bit of a blur of tiredness, aches and pains and not being able to swallow or eat properly…ugh.

Just a short post today as a result. Feeling marginally better today, enough to honour a long-standing commitment to take Ali to Ikea for her birthday. Yep, you read that right.

I normally hate going to Ikea. Scratch that, I always hate going to Ikea, it’s never been a pleasurable experience for me. Nothing against either the company or their products – it’s the atmosphere and the place itself which does me in. Last time we went I came out with a blinding headache, and this time it’s nausea (though due to the tonsilitis I don’t think I can blame it on the shop entirely).

Anyway, I promised, so we went. But we were almost prevented from doing so by a huge accident on the M25 which happened around 5.30 this morning, and was serious enough for the clockwise carriageway to still be closed when we were heading home around 2.15. Typical timing – the one day Ali takes a day off and we had it all planned out…we had to take an alternate route which led us into the traffic which was being diverted away from the accident, but in the end we weren’t delayed too badly considering the severity of the crash and the chaos it caused – more than 4 miles of traffic was trapped on the M25 and had to be turned round. No news yet on what actually happened or if/how many people were hurt, but Ali’s suggestion on why it had taken so long for the road to reopen was that they were probably treating people at the scene.

I did come away from the store with something of my own though – a new desk, a brand new big flat open work area, just the way I like them. I can spread equipment and scripts out as far as I want. Now I just have to build the thing…but on a day when I’m feeling a bit more like doing it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

