Posted by: Paul | October 8, 2010

Conversations with a Two-Year-Old: What’s that noise?

It was my birthday recently, and in the course of a couple of separate trips to town I have exhausted pretty much all my birthday funds on unneccessary trinkets and baubles.

Chief among these are quite a few new CDs (yes, I do still buy them). There’s an awful lot of new music I’ve missed out on in the last year and if I’m to keep up a long-standing commitment to producing a Best of the Year compilation at Christmas I need some new raw material to draw from.

More on the contents of this pile of discs in a later post, but suffice to say I have installed a couple of them in the car to listen to as I ferry his lordship around. First choice is ‘I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose’ by Bombay Bicycle Club, and I’m very much enjoying it’s blend of Built To Spill and St Johnny. In fact, it’s a bit like Editors might sound if they’d grown up listening to just the right amount of Sonic Youth, rather than too much Joy Division.

Anyway, after Baby Gym we’re back in the car and I switch the stereo on again.

‘What’s that noise?’

‘It’s music, Adam.’

‘No it isn’t!’

Honestly! Everyone’s a critic.

Leave a Reply

Categories

