Posted by: Paul | September 21, 2010

The Great British Bake Off

This fun show comes to a conclusion tonight. I’m a bit cooking competitioned-out with Celebrity Masterchef having not long finished, but in its favour the Great British Bake-Off is at least only weekly so doesn’t demand too much time!

We’re down to the final three – Ruth, Edd, and Miranda. They’ve been consistently the best performers throughout so for once in these shows (cough NEIL STUKE cough) the right people have made it through the challenges.

I like a bit of baking, so I’m picking up useful tips from this along the way too. Though I have to say Ruth’s advice on crumble a couple of weeks ago (‘press down firmly’) had exactly the opposite effect to what I wanted. A big, stodgy mush. I won’t be doing that again.

I think other competitive shows could take a leaf out of GBBO’s book, as it gets a lot right for me – it doesn’t outstay its welcome, it’s far friendlier and nicer to watch than most (despite the pressure it’s clear there’s a supportive atmosphere here throughout and there’s no bitching), and it throws in an edutainment element too, with the inserts about food history which are light and easy to digest. Ba-dum-tsssh.

Anyway, who’s going to win? My money’s on Ruth. Though if she mentions ‘my boys’ one more time I’m going to chuck my scales through the TV.

Leave a Reply

Categories

