Posted by: Paul | September 11, 2010

Working 5 to 9…

…what a way to make a living.

Working for myself is an utterly different kettle of fish to an office – and I increasingly find I don’t mind that at all. The difference is that I’m at home, in comfortable surroundings, and thanks to both laptops and wifi I can work anywhere I like. At the dining table. On the sofa. In the garden. Even in bed – and I have done all of these at some point in the last six months. Only the garden was not as successful as I’d have liked, but it was a bright day and the screen was dim by comparison, making it hard to read.

Anyway, the upshot of this is that I’ve spent the last few evenings doing at least a couple of hours work, both to meet a deadline and to make sure that my daytime is clear for Adam (I’ve long since lost the battle of the daytime sleep). This is likely to continue into next week as I’m trying to cram an extra project in and want to make sure I can sustain this level of work – it might be important to know what my capacities are in the months to come. A homeworking friend of mine gave me a piece of advice very early on in this process – she said ‘don’t say no to anything in your first year’. I fully intend to stick to that, as it’s the best way of building up relationships and a client base – show that you’re reliable and will go the extra mile.

But at times it hardly feels like an extra mile – just a comfortable new way of working for me. I never imagined at the start of this process that I’d ever be happy working at ten o’clock at night – but after a day of living in the world of a two-year-old, it’s good to switch on the PC and immerse yourself in something which engages a different part of your brain. A change is as good as a rest, after all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

