Posted by: Paul | July 21, 2010

Remote Control

I love remote working. Absolutely love it. The thought that I can do pretty much what I did in an office every day for nearly twelve years, from the comfort of my dining room table is astonishing to me. Right now I’m working on material for a museum in LA, over 5000 miles or an eleven hour flight away, all via email, FTP and other online file delivery services.

This freedom is fantastic – I can work anywhere which has an internet connection. Maybe that makes what I do ephemeral, disposable, intangible, but it also makes it accessible – if I produce something for a website, as soon as the relevant webmaster has uploaded whatever it is I’m doing it’s available to the wider public and I can point people to it, including prospective clients.

The only thing which ties me to an actual office or facility is the need to use a recording studio from time to time. Sure, it would be nice to have my own dedicated office space, and it is on the cards, but for now I’m satisfied with being ‘at the kitchen table’, as it were.

I can see that being a homeworker can have it’s drawbacks though. It can get lonely – when people don’t get back to you, sometimes for days, you can feel a bit cut off and adrift from the rest of the working world. Of course, people are only just at the other end of the phone, and I realise one great difference between my situation now and that when I was employed by someone else – the onus is all on me to do the chasing. There are also a great many more possible distractions at home, and as much as I enjoyed them I’m actually quite glad the World Cup and Wimbledon are over so I can get down to making my business work – sport was threatening to take over my summer!

Twelve years ago such working arrangements would not have been possible though. Internet connections would not have supported it, and I recall only getting my first work email address six months after joining the company. The principles of audio editing remain the same though the technology has sped up our ability to work, and there are many times I look back and think ‘we used to do what? Put live reverb onto the end of music tracks via a mixing desk and outboard reverb unit while we lay it off to DAT? Ridiculous!’

Thank goodness for technological advancement, that’s what I say!

Leave a Reply

Categories

