Posted by: Paul | July 20, 2010

Spelt Loaf Recipe

OK, a few people have asked me to post the full recipe for the spelt loaf I baked the other day. Very tasty it is too, I had some toasted this morning. This is reproduced from the Doves Farm flour bag itself, and is called a ‘Roman Style Loaf’ – if anyone from Doves Farm ever reads this, I wholeheartedly acknowledge that this is your work, please do not sue me. I hope merely to drive sales of your delicious product. I have also adapted this slightly to better suit my needs.

Ingredients:
500g spelt flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon / sachet fast acting yeast
1 tablespoon honey
400ml warm water
1 tablespoon olive oil (I used extra virgin, FYI)

1. Grease a loaf tin with a little olive oil. Here’s where DF and I divide – they suggest two 500g loaf tins, and I found this made the loaf too small to be that useful for sandwiches etc. I’d suggest using a large 800g or 1kg loaf tin instead, but haven’t tested this yet – will do later this week. It may not rise enough and be a horrible disaster

2. Mix the flour, salt and yeast in a large bowl.

3. Add the honey to the warm water, dissolve, and then mix with the flour.

4. When the flour has absorbed the water, add the tablespoon of oil and mix thoroughly.

5. Knead the dough on a floured worktop / board for a few minutes (I used some wheat free plain flour to coat the surface, FYI)

6. Put the dough into the loaf tin, cover and leave in a warm place like an airing cupboard to rise for half an hour.

7. Preheat an oven to 190 degrees C (Gas mark 6), and bake for 40-45 minutes.

8. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

