Posted by: Paul | July 19, 2010

Post 200!

I had no idea if I’d make it this far. My original intention was to post every day for a year without any real clue whether it was possible for me. But I guess in reality, pretty much anything’s possible as long as you stick at it and try your hardest – a philosophy which I need to apply to my work as much as anything else. But I’m proud of what I’ve achieved so far, and a friend told me the other day that posting daily without fail was ‘impressive’ – it’s the little things like that which keep you going, and the appreciation you have for friends when they comment on something you’ve written, either on the blog itself or when you see them.

Anyway, here are a few things I’ve learned so far about being a daily blogger:

1. Don’t sit down to write until you have something to write about.

2. Make lists of topics when you think of them, so you have something to draw from on the days when a subject does not present itself.

3. Even if you’ve had a hellish day, forgotten to post until 10pm and really can’t be bothered – do it. You’ll feel better after you know you’ve kept the chain going, no matter the crappy nature of the post (see point 2).

4. Posting early sets you up for the day, and then you have a full day ahead without constantly thinking ‘I wonder what I’m going to write about later?’

5. It is possible to take some time off if you write posts in advance and schedule them – hard work, but worth doing for your sanity as much as anything else!

6. Photos enliven a dull post, and if you take it yourself you’re going to recall, and write, with more clarity.

7. Don’t get behind on archiving. Right now I’m very, very behind. I save everything I write into a separate document for each month, lest WP accidentally erases everything – you never know, you may have material to turn into paying articles or ideas and that has real value.

8. Throwing a different perspective in can be fun. It’s about time Toby The Cat posted again.

9. The more you do it, the more it becomes a habit, the more you enjoy it. And enjoying it makes for better posts.

10. Stats are awesome. But don’t get hung up on them. Enjoy the peaks, disregard the troughs.

If you have been, thank you for reading – genuinely.

Leave a Reply

Categories

