Posted by: Paul | May 8, 2010

Rain, rain, go away…

As much as I love looking after Adam, if I have to look after him for three days in a row on my own I go slightly mad.

This doesn’t happen very often – the first time was a few weeks ago when my parents were away and couldn’t do their usual Wednesday, and today is day 3 of the current stint as Ali is taking her parents to see Jersey Boys in London for her Dad’s birthday. So I’m left holding the baby and am at the moment on my early afternoon break while he naps.

What you need on a day like this is good weather, so you can get out and do something, even if it’s just messing about in the garden. But no – torrential rain. So when he wakes up I’m going to have to entertain him for about 4 hours until bedtime, without being able to go outside.

The problem with this is that I have a terrible aversion to mess. I know kids come with mess attached so I should be used to it by now, but I can never quite bring myself to carry out an activity which generates more mess. Painting? No way. Cooking? Well maybe, but we’ve run out of wheat-free flour right now (we FINALLY have his coeliac test later this week). So I’m hoping he wakes up in a good, non-whiney mood and will be satisfied with his regular toys until tea-time – as I’m still recovering from the man-flu and have a bad enough headache as it is!

In other news, barring HMRC turning me down for some unknown reason I’m now officially self employed! Business account and everything. Now I just need to invoice for the stuff I’ve done in recent weeks and start pulling in some more work!

Leave a Reply

Categories

