Posted by: Paul | January 5, 2010

Nostalgia & Palin

The gradual preparations begin for my departure from Antenna Audio. I am slowly gathering materials together and laying the groundwork for recruitment for my own replacement, which feels a bit strange. A bit like putting cushions on a big comfy armchair and knowing you will never sit in it again.

I’m feeling nostalgic today – that’s what looking back over more than 11 years of work will do for you. Projects which seemed so huge and terrifying at the time came and went in the blink of an eye, in the grand scheme of things. I’ve rounded up some of my favourites but long-forgotten gems keep on poking their heads up from our back catalogue, and things which I formerly held in high regard do not come up to scratch on a second examination, and shall be discarded.

I think the nostalgia is also to do with the fact that I am currently reading the second volume of Michael Palin’s diaries. I’m a little disappointed that it doesn’t go far enough forward to cover his immense performance in Alan Bleasdale’s GBH, which he himself stated in his BAFTA Fellowship speech was the best role he had ever played – it is. I’m eager to read how he felt about it at the time, and how the shoot went for that but I must wait for Volume 3 to do so, and console myself with the period which covers the Pythons coming to the end of their body of work as a group and branching out on their solo careers. I’m just at the point where Time Bandits has been released in the UK to lukewarm reviews – will watch it again at the weekend if I get time!

I admit I am in part inspired to write this blog by Palin’s inveterate diary-keeping. Not sure if anyone in the fullness of time will be interested in a record of my own life, but maybe my son will look back over it in the future. Adam, if you’re reading, this is for you.

Came up with what struck me straight away as a good project idea for something to investigate today but I shall develop it further to see if it’s a real goer before revealing its nature.

Leave a Reply

Categories

