Posted by: Paul | January 3, 2010

Twelfth Night

Though the official “Twelfth Night” isn’t until January 6th, the decorations and various trappings of Christmas are being boxed up and stashed in the loft for another year as we prepare to return to work. It seems appropriate to clear the decks before my leap into the unknown. I think I should probably stop referring to it as that, as all it is inferring on me is a sense of creeping dread. No, I’m going to do what I need to without apology or guilt – take the break that I have earned, enjoy it, breathe, think, plan, prepare.
The three of us are going for lunch at the Tavern shortly – one last post-Christmas treat before the (for me) short return to the grindstone. I expect the food to be as mediocre as usual but comforting, filling, and most importantly hot. The icy weather is getting to my bones, and showing no signs of stopping. Still, at least I can lounge in front of two FA Cup giant killings this afternoon under the auspices of updating my CV and applying for a job at the NHM which is no doubt out of my league! Emphatic win for Tottenham yesterday – fingers crossed for a good 4th round draw. Shame I can’t say the same about Colchester… Boothroyd’s crown slips somewhat after a 7-0 drubbing away at Preston. What on earth happened there? Failed formation / selection experiment?

Leave a Reply

Categories

